11.29.2014  |   | Subscribe  | Contact us

All News & Blogs

E-mail Alerts

County to honor its history
A new preservation award and a new marker program will help promote awareness of Stafford's cultural resources

  Lee Woolf's archive
  E-mail Lee Woolf
Date published: 11/17/2004


THE STAFFORD County His- torical Commission is looking for a few good preservationists. Well, actually, the commission is looking for one outstanding preservationist--one deserving of an award.

The commission received the blessing of the Board of Supervisors last month to establish an annual preservation award for an individual property owner, organization, company or business that has contributed to the protection and management of a cultural resource in Stafford County.

"This program isn't limited to preserving bricks and mortar," said Anita Dodd, the Historical Commission chairman. "It can recognize things like educational projects, public programs and policy making, as well as protecting specific sites or structures."

Dodd said nomination forms are going out this week to the Old Falmouth Renaissance Commission, the Stafford Historical Society, the Architectural Review Board, the Stafford Cemetery Committee and the county's Planning Commission.

The deadline for nominations is Dec. 31. The winner then will be chosen by a panel of judges from outside Stafford County and a plaque will be presented in May, which is National Historic Preservation Month.

Nomination criteria can include any of the following:

Building improvements made with regard to sensitive restoration or original design

A new addition that keeps with the original structure and setting

Adaptive reuse of a building that preserves the original architectural character

Historic landscape design that displays an effort to preserve the original landscape character and setting

The promotion and/or establishment of historic preservation activities, policies or issues.

Dodd said the panel of seven to nine judges is still being formed and will represent different aspects of preservation, including architecture, archeology, planning and education.

She said the first award will recognize preservation work accomplished in 2004. She said it is possible some of the same nominees could be in the running again next year, but it would have to be for work accomplished in 2005.

"A lot of people in the county deserve awards for preservation work that has been done in the past," Dodd said. "But to go back in time would just involve recognizing too many people. It would be very hard to do.

"But we thought this was important and we needed to start somewhere. So, we'll start in 2004."

1  2  Next Page