Fredericksburg.com - Campaigns bring conflicts over signs, domain names

search local
Follow us on Twitter Find us on Facebook

Get a printer-friendly version of this page. E-mail this story to a friend.
Make a post about this story on FredTalk.



Visit Jonas Beals's blog: Tuned In
Visit Jonas Beals's blog: The Rumble

In the Aquia District, candidates Paul Milde and Paul Ortiz are battling not just for the seat, but over campaign signs and Internet domain names.
JONAS BEALS/THE FREE LANCE-STARS

Visit the Photo Place

Campaigns bring conflicts over signs, domain names
Aquia candidates have conflict over signs and Web domains
Date published: 10/20/2009

BY JONAS BEALS

No local government race would be complete without the standard accusations of sign-stealing, sign-switching and straight-up sign removal. The Aquia District supervisor contest has all that and more.

Paul Milde and Paul Ortiz have taken those shenanigans from the roadside to the information superhighway.

Ortiz recently purchased two Internet domain names--veterans formilde.com and veteransfor milde.org. Both link to the same page as paulortiz.org, the official site for Ortiz's campaign. Milde is not amused.

This sort of domain poaching has happened before. One incident involved Del. Albert Pollard 2007. When he tried to purchase the domain albertpollard.com, it was already taken. Anyone who entered that name was redirected to the Stafford County Republican Party's site.

There are some important differences this time around. With the benefit of that and other examples, any person even thinking of running for office knows that securing a domain name is a priority. Let your own name fall into the hands of someone else, and potential voters could be directed to your opponent's site. This is something Milde and Ortiz are both aware of.

Second, Ortiz did not swipe paulmilde.com, Milde's official campaign site. Nor did Ortiz buy paulmilde.org or paulmilde.net, both of which are available. He bought the veteransformilde domains, which Milde said he had no intention of ever buying or using.

This bout of virtual sign stealing was inspired by a set of actual signs at the entrance to Aquia Harbour.

Ortiz, a retired Marine Corps colonel, has been busy courting the veteran vote. To that end, he has a number of red, white and blue signs that read "Veterans for Paul Ortiz." Those signs have a Web address--vets4ortiz.com.

Milde, whose standard campaign signs are green and white, posted his own red, white and blue "Veterans for Milde" signs right next to Ortiz's at the corner of U.S. 1 and Washington Drive. Milde's sign has no Web address on it.

"He's intentionally trying to confuse the public by using the same colors and the same words," Ortiz said before pointing out that Milde has no military experience.

"I know thousands of veterans who support me," Milde said. "He doesn't have the rights to the votes of all veterans."

When asked why he would purchase domain names that haven't been made public and likely never will, Ortiz said "probably because everyone else does it. If you don't, your opponent possesses all those Internet addresses. It's an effort to ensure that if you want to talk about veterans in this county, vets4ortiz is the way to go."

Milde responded to the same question by saying: "I think it's underhanded. He's trying to trick people into coming to his Web site. It's just childish and disappointing."

Each man feels that his opponent's actions show a lack of integrity.

Irene Egan, the other candidate in the race, has managed to avoid the fracas. Her Web site is ireneegan .net.

Jonas Beals: 540/368-5036
Email: jbeals@freelancestar.com



Read more stories about Stafford
Date published: 10/20/2009



Most recent reader comments:

Viewing 5 out of 9 comments. (Sorted in reverse order, with most recent post at the top.)

Display comments on this page. | Sort:

PLEASE READ: These reader comments are not moderated. Each user is solely responsible for any message (s)he posts here. The Free Lance-Star does not endorse the views expressed within these comments. All users who post to this Web site must agree to the terms of the FredTalk User Agreement. We rely on our readers to police themselves, and report any content that violates our User Agreement. In accordance with our User Agreement, we reserve the right to remove any post at any time for any reason, and will restrict access of registered users who repeatedly violate our terms. Any reader can report inappropriate content by clicking the "Report this post to admins" link at the bottom of each comment. You need not be registered to report a post.

I would like to know (posted by Mickey10 , Oct. 21, 2009 3:57 pm)    0 likes
what the deal is with Ortiz being investigated for violation of the Hatch Act. I've read about it on blogs, but there's nothing in the paper about it. People would really like to know what's going on with that and hear something from Ortiz himself about it.

Here's the endorsements (posted by Harpoon , Oct. 21, 2009 8:38 am)    0 likes
Looks like a pretty impressive list of veterans endorsing Ortiz. See the bottom of the page. http://www.paulortiz.org/Veterans_for_Ortiz.htm I would like to see the list of the "thousands" of veterans Milde claims supports him. Couldn't find it anywhere on his website. Sounds like another Milde myth to me.

Where's the official endorsement? (posted by Dana1 , Oct. 21, 2009 6:30 am)    0 likes
His signs are rather vague. Exactly what group was it? Or is there even a group that endorsed him? Just because Ortiz wears a uniform doesn't give him exclusive rights to assume all veterans support him. I am guessing there is no endorsement.

ZZZzzzzz (posted by infizon , Oct. 20, 2009 1:32 pm)    0 likes
Slow news day. 4 years ago Mr. Milde created a parallel website to mirror Crows Nest.org (Crowsnest.com) then two weeks out from the election endorses himself as the "best candidate" via an email from Crows Nest.Com. Didn't know it was a PAC.

Milde's the Conniving One (posted by therightstuff , Oct. 20, 2009 12:26 pm)    0 likes
Ortiz knows what it takes to defeat the enemy. No mention in the article about how Milde took out the domain name SaveCrowsNest.com before his first campaign, based on the SaveCrowsNest.org website put up by an environmental organization. It was solely for the purpose of getting elected. We have never seen such a conniving politician as Milde in Stafford County. Keep up the good work, Col. Ortiz!

What do you think?
Enter your FredTalk username and password to post a comment on this story. If you are registered on FredTalk or another part of this site, use that login here. Otherwise, you can just REGISTER here... .

Posting guidelines

1. Be respectful. No personal attacks.
2. Please avoid offensive, vulgar, abusive, hateful or defamatory language.
3. Agree to read & follow THE RULES.
4. Use the "report to admins" link for posts which violate the rules. 5. Keep it on-topic. Posts which contribute nothing of value to the conversation will be deleted.

Username:
Password:

Post title:


Please keep it brief (Limit is 512 characters). Please note, attempts to circumvent this limit by making
multiple posts back-to-back (ex: 'continued', 'part1, 2', etc) will be deleted.

Please make sure CAPS LOCK is off. Posts in ALL CAPS will be deleted.)


By checking this box, you agree to the terms of the FredTalk User agreement.









The Free Lance-Star fredericksburg.com 93.3 WFLS Print Innovators Classic Rock 96.9 99.3 The Vibe wntx radio