11.21.2014  |   | Subscribe  | Contact us

All News & Blogs

E-mail Alerts

Spotsylvania recognizes its Teachers of the Year
Spotsylvania County recognizes its top teachers for the year

 School Board Chairman Gil Seaux (left) and Superintendent Jerry Hill congratulate Virginia High School Counselor of the Year Emily Hall, from Courtland High.
Visit the Photo Place
Date published: 5/11/2010

The Spotsylvania County school division recently recognized its outstanding teachers for this school year and announced statewide awards for two counselors.

Courtland High School Guidance Director Emily Hall was named the Virginia High School Counselor of the Year by the Virginia School Counselor Association.

The same organization awarded Judy Ladd, the division's supervisor of guidance services, its Spirit Award in recognition of contributions to guidance services.

The school division recognized Robyn Townley of Lee Hill Elementary as its elementary-level Mentor Teacher of the Year and Fernanda Kain of Massaponax High School as it secondary-level Mentor Teacher of the Year.

The school division's New Teachers of the Year are: Kerri Gittings, Lee Hill Elementary; Misha Sanborn, Battlefield Middle; and Kristina Ashwell, Riverbend High School.

Below is a list of this year's Teachers of the Year.

Elementary schools

Sonya Johnson, Battlefield Elementary

Christina Selfe, Berkeley Elementary

Jennifer Glasgow, Brock Road Elementary

Amanda H. Leahy, Cedar Forest Elementary

Mederise Burke, Chancellor Elementary

Antoinette Hamblett, Courthouse Road Elementary

Donna Cannavo, Courtland Elementary

Kathy Arnold, Harrison Road Elementary

Francie Graese, Lee Hill Elementary

Elizabeth K. Berry, Livingston Elementary

Wendy Fletcher, Parkside Elementary

Maria Mead, Riverview Elementary

Carla Hord, Robert E. Lee Elementary

Melanie Russ, Salem Elementary

Margaret Jones, Smith Station Elementary

Marsha Wilkins, Spotswood Elementary

Annette L. Martell, Wilderness Elementary


George C. Hummer, Battlefield Middle

Janet Ridley, Chancellor Middle

Martha Coleman, Freedom Middle

Kristen Weidle, Ni River Middle

Nicole M. Arrington, Post Oak Middle

Stephanie L. Pritchett, Spotsylvania Middle

Stan Wilson, Thornburg Middle


Mary Lysher, Chancellor High School

Heather Vickers, Courtland High School

Kimberly Kemp, Massaponax High School

Katherine Letellier, Riverbend High School

Stephenie L. Fellinger, Spotsylvania High School

Misty Kelley, John J. Wright Educational and Cultural Center

Timothy A. McLeod, Spotsylvania Career and Technical Center

New Teachers of the Year

Kerri Gittings, Lee Hill Elementary School

Misha Sanborn, Battlefield Middle School

Kristina Ashwell, River-bend High School