11.21.2014  |   | Subscribe  | Contact us

All News & Blogs

E-mail Alerts

School News

Date published: 11/12/2012


Head Start

Students of the Week were Serenity Carpenter, Danasia Elliott, Valery Camano-Serrano, Eshan Hashmi, Brayan Fuentes-Rodriguez, Makhi Hundley-Johnson, Trevonn Cormier, Laniyah Hendrix, Trevor Childs, James German Jr., Aaron Fugate, Kalub Franklin, Alyssa Bushey, Mabelin Galindo-Lopez and Kenneth Franklin.

--Alice Thompson

Margaret Brent Elementary

Sugar Cassett and Derek Altstaetter were picked for Athletes of the Month for showing positive behavior and effort above and beyond normal expectations in class. Derek and Sugar showed up every day to PE class with a positive attitude, and gave 100 percent when doing our running program and the lesson of the day. Both students were consistently positive with their peers and did an excellent job following all the rules of the class.

--Leslie Martin

Garrisonville Elementary

Fourth grade teacher Lisa Rhoden recognized Kenny Schuppin and Blake Parker for working hard and achieving with First in Math. She also recognized Matthew King, Kenny Schuppin, Blake Parker, Jake Orr, Amari Walker, Jacquline Kuzma, Patrick Kollmer, Ellie Pieri, Alex Peace, Jacob Edmonds, April Espe and Michael Scalercio for their achievements in Accelerated Reader.

--Sally Moore

Grafton Village Elementary

Reflections winners are Angelina Brown, first place for photography; Brianna Fisher, first place for visual arts; Angelina Brown, first place for literature; and David Brown, second place for photography.

The winners from Grafton go on to the Fredericksburg District PTA contest level.

--Kimberly Horn

Rockhill Elementary

Brenda Black, fourth grade teacher, is the November P.T.O. Employee of the Month.

--Pat Johnston

Gayle Middle

The following students were selected to the All County Band:

Ciera Henderson--percussion

Nolan Jordan--tuba, second chair

Alexa Houghton--French horn

Jack Kenny--alto saxophone

Nicole Newcomb--bass clarinet, second chair

Marisol Corral--bass clarinet

Demitri Funnel--first clarinet, third chair

Francisco Tueros--flute.

First alternates include Stuart Kimball, alto saxophone; Nikel Banks, French horn; and Alecsis Pillar, bass clarinet.

--Susan Easter

Stafford Middle

SCA Officers are:

President--Ireland Twiggs

Vice president--Jessica Kroeger

Secretary--Abby Harrigan

Historian--Hailey Gallahan.

All-County Band members are Hannah Phillips, Mary Foley, Amanda Marshall, Emma McElwain, Philip Winham, Hayley Groover, April Harrison, Josh Bass, Micayah Upshaw, Alanna Davidson and Gerik Tushoski.

All-County Chorus members are Pearl Powell, Ryan Lacey, Bruce Maten, Elizabeth Clark and Alonzo Bulloch.

--Liz Featherstone