Return to story


November 25, 2012 12:10 am

Garrisonville Elementary

The top 10 runners in kindergarten and first grade for the Pumpkin (1-mile) run are:

First-grade girls--Tayler Kimmell, Ryleigh McLaurin, Anna Drake, Lily Nugent, Megan Shoemaker, Bailey Gibson, Eliana Baugh, Abby Whorton, Abby Ferreira, Anna Moore, Susy Hernandez

First-grade boys--Nathan Davis, Camden Robertson, Kyler Ingraham, Griffin Harrel, Quinton Guilbault, Aaron Russey, Daniel Sullivan, Jackson LoFiego

Kindergarten girls--Ali Hutchins, Hannah Smoot, Natalie Stump, Emily Rhame, Brooke Klepic, Brooke Althiser, Angel Castillo, Mahla Iravani, Alivia Augrom, Nia Davis

Kindergarten boys--Nathan Klepic, Shaun Roseberry, Graham Ward, Hendrix Roberson, Matthew Benkosky, Jacinto Martinez, Phil Leonhart III, Trey Lipsomb, Jayden McGuire.

--Sally Moore

Grafton Village Elementary

The school held its annual Turkey Trot on Nov. 14. The following boys and girls won in their grade levels:

Kindergarten--Hailey Lemke and Connor Smith

First grade--Emily Burnett and Dominic Catell

Second grade--Isabella Kamenicky and Jonah Chase

Third grade--Celie Constantine and Wells Ouellette

Fourth grade--Thomas Sepulveda

Fifth grade--Cameren Downs and Miles Perrine.

--Kimberly Horn

Rockhill Elementary

The following staff members earned pins for years of service to Stafford County public schools:

25 years--Sheila Speed, teacher

15 years--Patty Slebonick, nurse

10 years--Eileen Edwards, speech/language pathologist; Tiffany Black, math specialist; paraprofessionals Chris Anderson, Lesa Brletich and Rose King

5 years--Nikki Black, art teacher.

--Pat Johnston

Gayle Middle

The school recently held a turkey drive to support the Fredericksburg Area Food Bank for the upcoming holidays, and 45 turkeys totaling 622 pounds were donated. Joe Altorfer dressed in the turkey costume during the turkey drive. Gayle Leadership students and the River's Edge service unit Girl Scout Troop 3404 assisted in this project.

The eighth-grade Extended English classes recently completed a challenging unit on debate. Lively in-school debates were held at the end of October, with the following students continuing on to the annual Stafford County Public Schools Middle School Debate Forum held Nov. 8 at Thompson Middle School: Megan Mahoney, David Ghansah, Breanne Roscoe, Nolan Williams, Hannah Hinkley, Christian Chew, Micayla Starnes, Kayla Mason, Sidd Rao, Kallyn Joyner, Shaylee Bolling and Mazzen Shalaby. Alternates included Kerri Julian, Annie Fitzgerald, Leah Olson and Marc Celotto.

--Susan Easter

Stafford Middle

The team of Andrew Witalec, Margo Rayner and Mary Foley won "most persuasive" at the Middle School Debate Night.

Other debate team members include Ireland Twiggs, Alanna Davidson, Joey Heindrichs, Amanda Marshall, James Sunderlin, Shayna Smith, Ashlyne Taylor, Stephanie Jacobsen, Sidee Sesay, Richie Quispe, Amber Kohl, Ashley Kohl and Dorothy Castelly.

--Liz Featherstone

Copyright 2014 The Free Lance-Star Publishing Company.