11.24.2014  |   | Subscribe  | Contact us

All News & Blogs

E-mail Alerts

School News

Date published: 1/21/2013


Sixth-graders Camaryn Haley and Briana McCurley are the 2013 School Spelling Bee champions. They will represent the school at the county spelling bee competition in January.

Diana Hildago, Millie Ouk, James Sunderlin and Lilandra Gaddie were runner-ups in the spelling competition.

Seventh-grader Mark Maire is the 2013 National Geographic Bee champion.

--Liz Featherstone

Brooke Point High

The following students received certificates and medals at the DECA District 19 Leadership Conference in December. DECA is an association of marketing students. These winners will advance to the state conference in March.

Kelly Ciccarello finished second and Julie Hembree finished third in Principles of Marketing; Mason Ballard finished second in Marketing Management, Role Play 1; Elizabeth Fauth finished second in test and second overall in Business Service Marketing; Deana Hamlin finished first in marketing test, role play 1 and role play 2, to finish first overall in Apparel and Accessories Marketing; Shikira Sherrod finished first in role play 2 and test to finish second overall in Quick Service Restaurant Management; Stephanie Passley finished first in role play 2-selling and second in role play 1-market planning to finish first overall in Retail Merchandise Marketing; Ivan Ren finished first in test to finish second overall in Restaurant Full Service Marketing; and Autumn Kline finished third overall in Selling.

The Scholastic Bowl Team ended the regular season with a third-place finish and a 12-4 overall record. At the district tournament earlier this month, the team finished fifth.

The NJROTC Rifle Team had a strong performance in the recent Secretary of the Navy Postal Match. Of the nearly 3,000 cadets who participated in this event nationwide, Anne Slota placed in the top two percent and Kirk Sawyer and Christopher Sweat finished in the top 10 percent. Overall, 12 of 16 team members who participated finish in the top third. Team members are Captain Kirk Sawyer, Anne Slota, Chris Sweat, Eric Coppenrath, Robert Allison, Erica Molnar, Sumner Stone, Charles Gilmore, Dominic Thome, John Reinboldt, Josephine Baron, Francesca Chambers, Darell Lawrence, Logan Robertson, Mercedes Brandstetter, David Bouchard and Jeremy Fenske.

Previous Page  1  2  3  Next Page