St. James’ House at 1300 Charles St. in Fredericksburg, Va., is open to the public for tours only two weeks a year; a week in the spring and a week in the fall (this year from October 7, 2019 to October 12, 2019).

The house is named after James Mercer, a longtime family friend of the Washington family, and the lawyer who wrote Mary Washington's will. While the origin of the name "St. James" is not completely known, it's thought to have been a practical joke between James and his father.

Come explore and learn of the history of the house and view its collection of beautiful antiques and decorative arts. Be sure to stroll the handsome gardens after your tour. Admission is $5 per person.

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.